Skip to content

The Care Certificate – Why it is so important for employers and care workers

The Care Certificate

Since 1 April 2015, all persons wishing to work in social care must complete the Care Certificate. This shows you are trained and competent to a set of 15 standards that includes things like understanding what it is to be a career, respecting privacy and dignity, managing medication and controlling infections.

The Care Certificate: 

  • is the beginning of the career journey for those new to care
  • is a foundation for health and adult social care integration
  • ensures those new to the sector are supported
  • is endorsed by the Care Quality Commission (CQC)
  • is a CQC expectation – all employers should now be offering it.

Although the Care Certificate is designed for new staff, it also offers opportunities for existing staff working at various levels to refresh or improve their knowledge and skills.

Registered ManagersResponsibility

Registered Managers (RM) are ultimately responsible for signing off the Care Certificate, and they must be confident that the new worker has competence in their role. For example, employers can choose how to deliver and assess the certificate; in-house, or by using an external learning provider.

Employers’ Responsibility

Employers are responsible for ensuring that all their social care staff have this certificate.

Employers also need to be confident that the assessor / trainer of the Care Certificate is professionally competent in the standard(s) they assess or deliver.

To delegate assessment responsibilities you should ask yourself:

  • Do they have a thorough understanding of what they are assessing and direct experience in it?
  • Do they have confidence and competence in the skills needed to make assessments in the workplace?
  • Remember they do not need a formal assessor qualification. However some training on the principles of work-based assessment is recommended to a certain standard.

The certificate standards:

  1. Understand your role
  2. Your personal development
  3. Duty of care
  4. Equality and diversity
  5. Work in a person centred way              
  6. Communication
  7. Privacy and dignity
  8. Fluids and nutrition
  9. Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities
  10. Safeguarding adults
  11. Safeguarding children
  12. Basic life support
  13. Health and safety
  14. Handling information
  15. Infection prevention and control

Would you like more information?

If you would like further information about the Care Certificate, or other Training Requirements, please get in touch.


Additional sources of information:

Skills for Care

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *